PDF-XChange now available for free for creating PDFs

7 Nov

“Tracker Software Products Ltd., a developer of PDF software, announced it is offering PDF-XChange Lite 4.0, its lightweight software for creating and editing PDFs, as a freeware for non-commercial and academic use. PDF-XChange Lite 4.0 is derived from the company’s flagship PDF-XChange line of commercial products.”

The press release appeared at http://www.prweb.com/releases/2010/11/prweb4724614.htm

I have to say, PDF-XChange Viewer is quite a great PDF reader alternative to Adobe PDF Reader. It allows users to get some basic editing done easily, such as markup, annotation etc. However, I was misunderstood by this PR. It said PDF-XChange Lite 4.0 is now free, when I installed the app, it asked me the Registration Code which I don’t know how to get.

PDF XChange Viewer

Finally I found a statement at the corner of their official website. “**For a limited time, by purchasing a PRO Viewer license customers receive a FREE copy of PDF-XChange 4.0 Lite.” WTF, I need to purchased the PRO to get a free license? That must be joking.

Sometimes bad marketing strategy will cost your customers. 😦 What’s worse, I counldn’t cancle the installation, neither click back nor Close windows worked.  I have to press Ctrl+Alt+Del to close the windows and click Shift+Del to delete the program permanently.

One Response to “PDF-XChange now available for free for creating PDFs”

  1. Harry November 18, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    I was looking for a free document scanning software on the Internet. I had used Textbridge for the past 8 years with many versions of Windows OS and I was not willing to buy another expensive scanning software any more. Then I found some interesting ones online, like Free OCR, etc. Though not as good as commercial OCR softwares, they did produce promising results to me.

Leave a comment